Second year of glass collection events in County Parks announced

Glass recycling

County Executive Rich Fitzgerald has announced that the county has partnered with the Pennsylvania Resources Council (PRC) for a second year to offer its Traveling Glass Recycling Bin Program in county parks. The bin will be located in each park for six days, Saturday through Thursday, from 7 a.m. to sundown to allow residents a resource to recycle glass.

“Glass recycling continues to be an interest of residents in the county and with fewer curbside options available, we’re delighted to provide this service at our county parks,” said Fitzgerald. “We know that glass bottles and jars are 100% recyclable and can be recycled endlessly without losing any quality, making the effort to put these items back into the recycling ecosystem even more important. Thank you to PRC and our county Parks Department for making this a priority for our communities.”

The Traveling Glass Recycling Bin Program provides a free recycling option using a bin that rotates through locations in western Pennsylvania. Last year at county park events, residents recycled 10.2 tons (20,490 lbs) of glass which reduces CO2 emissions by 0.29 tons.

Individuals can drop off glass bottles, jars and jugs of all colors. No color sorting is required. Containers should be empty and rinsed, with lids and labels still on. Bags and boxes used to deliver glass must be discarded off-site.Prc Glass Handout Final 768x993

The county park schedule follows:

Dates/Times

Location

Saturday, May 14 – Thursday, May 19

7 AM to Sundown

Settlers Cabin

Wave Pool Parking Lot

 

Saturday, June 18 – Thursday, June 23

7 AM to Sundown

Boyce Park

Ski Lodge Parking Lot

 

Saturday, July 16 – Thursday, July 21

7 AM to Sundown

Round Hill Park

Main Parking Lot near Duck Pond

 

Saturday, August 13 – Thursday, August 18

7 AM to Sundown

South Park

VIP Lot

Corrigan Drive and 100 Acres Drive

 

Saturday, August 27 – Thursday, September 1

7 AM to Sundown

Deer Lakes Park

2nd Veterans Shelter Lot

Mahaffey Road near Round-a-bout

 

Saturday, September 17 – Thursday, September 22

7 AM to Sundown

Hartwood Acres Park

Amphitheater Overflow Lot

Middle Road

 

Saturday, October 22 – Thursday, October 27

7 AM to Sundown

North Park

Swimming Pool Parking Lot

 

Saturday, November 12 – Thursday, November 17

7 AM to Sundown

White Oak Park

Chestnut Shelter and Playground Lot

McClintock Road

PRC’s Traveling Glass Recycling Bin Program is sponsored by Owens-Illinois, Inc. and CAP Glass and is made possible through a partnership with Michael Brothers Hauling & Recycling. The collection sites at the county parks are made possible through a partnership with the county’s Parks Department and its Sustainability Office. 

For more information, including a schedule of upcoming appearances and information about partnership opportunities, visit www.prc.org/glassrecycling or call 412-488-7490.