Nominations sought for 2020 Carnegie Science Awards

Awards celebrate scientists, educators, business leaders and innovators making a difference in our region

Carnegie Science Center is now accepting nominations for the 2020 Carnegie Science Awards, an annual awards program honoring our region’s most inspiring scientists, technologists, business leaders, communicators, educators, and students who are making a difference in western Pennsylvania and beyond. Nominations will be accepted on through Sun., Dec. 1, 2019.
Carnegie Science Award winners are selected by a committee of peers—both past awardees and industry leaders—who rigorously review hundreds of nominations and select the most deserving individuals and organizations. Since 1997, Carnegie Science Awards have recognized the accomplishments of more than 600 innovators whose contributions in the fields of science, technology, and education have enhanced our region’s industrial, academic, and environmental vitality.

The Science Center is seeking innovators in the following 16 categories:

  • Advanced Manufacturing and Materials
  • Environmental
  • Information Technology
  • Innovation in Energy
  • Life Sciences
  • Corporate Innovation
  • Entrepreneur
  • Start-Up Entrepreneur
  • Science Communicator
  • Elementary Educator
  • Middle Level Educator
  • High School Educator
  • Postsecondary Educator
  • Leadership in STEM Education
  • Leadership in Career and Technical Education
  • College/University Student

Awardees will be honored at the 24th annual Carnegie Science Awards Celebration on Fri., May 8, 2020, in PointView Hall in Carnegie Science Center’s PPG SCIENCE PAVILION™. As the Science Center’s signature celebration of innovation and annual fundraiser, the event attracts 500 business, medical, academic, and community influencers from across the region, and raises funds to support education programs that nurture the next generation of science and technology leaders.

Eaton is the presenting sponsor for the Carnegie Science Awards. Sponsors of individual awards at the 2020 ceremony will include ALCOSAN; Allegheny Conference; Duquesne Light; FedEx; Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield; Kennametal Inc.; NOVA Chemicals; Orionvega: Pittsburgh Business Times; Pittsburgh Technology Council; PPG; and WTAE, Channel 4.

Categories: What’s New